The Pipes & Drums Of The Emerald Society of the New York City Police Department is comprised of the Irish born; the sons and grandsons and great grandsons of Irish warriors who came to this country and found a better life. Only active and retired police officers are afforded the privilege. The members work in Narcotics, Harbor, Emergency Service, the Detective Bureau as well as other assignments that comprise the NYPD. They serve proudly as cops, detectives and officers.

Elected Positions

Bandmaster Det. Kevin McDonough
Assistant Bandmaster Sgt. Dennis Linehan
Treasurer Sgt. Tim Adrat
Financial Secretary Lt. Matt Murphy
Recording Secretary
Det. Christopher Ward
Pipe Major
Det. Daniel Sprague
Drum Major
Det. Kevin McCarthy


Pipe Section


Sgt. Tim Adrat Lt. Kevin Harford Lt. Dave Nisthaus
Det. John Barna Sgt. Billy Hargrove Sgt. Tom Nolan
Ptl. Jeff Baynon Lt. Pat Heraghty Sgt. Dan Noonan
 Sgt. Denis Boorman Det. Dom Jannetti Det. Joe O’Carroll
 Sgt. Timmy Breen Sgt. Kevin Keller P.O. Dan O’Connell
Ptl. Mike Brennan Capt. Tom Kelly P.O. Patrick O’Connor
P.O. Mike Brennan Jr. P.O. Joe Klan Lt. Dan O’Grady
Lt. Joe Carroll Sgt. Dennis Linehan P.O. Fred O’Modie
Det. John Cassidy P.O. Jay Malone Lt. Jim O’Sullivan
Det. Chris Chiaramonte Det. Mike McBride Sgt. Mike Paul
Sgt. Rob Conroy Det. Kevin McCarthy Sgt. Sean Rafferty
D.I. Robert Conwell Ptl. Mike McCormick Sgt. Ken Reiman
Lt. Robert Corcoran Det. Matthew McCrosson Det. Mike Rigney
Sgt. Brian Coughlan Det. Kevin McDonough S.A. Steve Rogers
Det. John Coughlin Sgt. Andy McEvoy Sgt. Keith Rossiter
P.O. Steve Crockett Det. Pat McGee Capt. John Sanford
Sgt. Bernie Cummings Lt. Kevin McGeever Lt. Dave Smith
Lt. Bill Davitt Lt. Jack McGovern Det. John Smyth
Ptl. Rich Devlin P.O. Tom McGuinness Det. Dan Sprague
Det. Will Donohue Lt. Gene McNamara Capt. Greg Stewart
P.O. Tom Dubois Det. Jake McNicholas Det. John Sullivan
Det. Andy Finn Det. Ed McPhillips Sgt. John M Sullivan
Lt. Sean Flanagan Sgt. Brian Meagher Sgt. John Tansey Sr.
Insp. Matt Galvin Dir. Brian Meager Jr. Det. John Tansey Jr.
Capt. Tim Galvin Det. Joe Mertens Det. Christopher Ward
Sgt. Bob Ganley Det. John Monahan Det. Brian Wood
Capt. Rob Gault P.O. Jim Murphy Lt. Chris Zaleski
P.O. Pat Giblin P.O. Paul Newman


Drum Section


Sgt. Pete Clancy Sgt. Chris Green Det. Brian Meichsner
Capt. Dan Collins Sgt. Rich Wall Lt. Matt Murphy
Det. Kevin Connors Sgt. Tim Horohoe Det. Jimmy O’Connor
P.O. Dan Costa Det. Mike Keenan Sgt. Steve Papp
Det. Jim Coughlan Det. John Kenny Det. Pete Quinn
Det. Bill Donohue Lt. Jay Levey Lt. Tom Rooney
Det. Ray Duffy Det. Ray Lind Sgt. Jack Rossiter
Det. Brendan Finn P.O. Kevin Maloney Sgt. Tom Rossiter
Sgt. Ken Finn Det. Gavin Matranga Det. Sean Scanlan
Sgt. Kevin Fitzgerald Lt. James McKeever Ptl. Mike Stapleton
Det. Mike Fitzsimons Det. Sean McTighe PO Patrick Ward
PO Tom Kilcoyne PO Daniel McGrath PO Matthew McGrath


Color Guard

Best Colorguard in the world for web

Ptl. Ed Bradley Sgt. John Holihan PO. Pat Timoney
Lt. Billy O’Sullivan Ptl. Tom Holihan PO John Donato
Det. John Kelly


Former Members



Ptl. George Ambrose – Drummer Lt. Arthur Hall – Drummer
Lt. Eamon Blake – Piper PO John Kelly – Piper
Det Robert Bisbee – Drummer PO Edward Larkin – Piper
Sgt Kevin Brady – Piper Civ Craig Leitch – Color Guard
Det Thomas Brancella – Piper PO Jack Leonard – Drummer
PO Jimmy Brennan – Piper Det. John Lonergan – Piper
Det Frank Bruno – Color Guard Ptl Edward Maloney – Piper
Ptl Robert Buckridge – Drummer Civ Ed McKenna – Piping Instructor
PO Paul Burke – Drummer PO William Maye – Piper
Ptl Harold Calmbacher – Drummer PO Pete McAnuff – Piper
PO Robert Coffey – Piper Sgt. Jack McCarthy – Piper
Sgt Joseph Collins – Piper Capt. Thomas McCarthy – Piper
Ptl Douglas E Connell – Drummer Ptl. Raymond McConville- Drummer
Det Daniel Conry – Drummer Ptl Michael McCrory- Drummer
Lt. Bobby Corcoran – Piper PO Dennis McMahon – Piper
Sgt. Freddie Crockett – Piper Ptl Kevin  P. Meagher – Piper
PO Jimmy Cronin – Drummer Insp Pearse P. Meagher – Piper
Lt. Kathleen Cronin – Piper Ptl Thomas F. Meagher – Piper
PO Artie Damm – Piper Capt. Ed Minogue – Piper/Pipe Major
Det. Dan Danaher- Piper/Bandmaster Ptl Joseph Mullane – Piper
Sgt. Finbar Devine – Drum Major PO Tom Murray – Piper
PO Stephen Driscoll – Color Guard PO Richard Newman – Piper
Ptl Richard Dyer – Drummer PO Vincent Newman – Piper
Polw Elizabeth Elliot Mescall – Piper Sgt Ed Nugent – Drummer
Lt. John Fahey – Drummer PO Eamon Nugent – Piper
Lt. Robert Farren- Piper Ptl Patrick O’Connor Sr – Color Guard
Sgt. Michael Fedele – Piper Det Patrick O’Connell – Piper
Sgt P.J. Ferguson – Drummer Ptl William Owens – Piper
Ptl Michael Flaherty – Piper/Pipe Major PO Patty O’Sullivan – Drummer
Ptl Michael Foley – Drummer Det Jerry Pugh – Drummer
Det Donald Gaffney – Piper Ptl Barney Quinn – Piper/Bandmaster
Lt. James Gill – Piper Det John Quinn – Piper
Det Brendan Glynn – Piper DI Peter Quinn Sr – Piper
Ptl Frank Glynn – Piper Det. Mike Reedy – Drum Sgt.
Capt John Gorman – Piper Ptl James Reilly – Drummer
Polw Helen Grant Nellie – Piper Det Joseph Reilly – Drummer
Det William Halley – Piper Polw Kaye Robinson – Drummer
Insp Michael Healy – Piper Lt Lawrence Savage – Color Guard
Lt James Henry – Piper Sgt. James Stewart – Piper
Sgt James Hines – Piper Det Thomas Sullivan – Piper/Pipe Major
Det Paul Hipple – Drummer Ptl Phil Thompson – Piper/Pipe Major
Capt. Bob Hogan – Piper/Pipe Major PO Julio Torres – Piper
Det Don Hurley – Drummer Det Robert Treston – Drummer
Ptl. Don James – Drummer Ptl Donald Waugh – Drummer
Billy Johnson – Piper Ptl Thomas Wellington – Drummer